This week I've been mainly listening to...

Journey Into Paradise: The Larry Levan Story.

I happened to stroll across this on itunes the other night. It's fantastic, it features a couple of my favourites including the original extended mix of Janice McClain's - Smack Dab In The Middle and Patrice Rushen's - Haven't You Heard. Chaka Khan's - Clouds, Change's - A Lovers Holiday, Lace - Can't Play Around and Bernard Edwards and Nile Rogers' remix of Sister Sledge's - Lost In Music also feature.

This is an incredible album and a great tribute to Larry Levan. It's such a shame he died of a heart attack when he was 38 as I'm sure today he would still be heavily involved with the scene, I certainly would have been on the dancefloor! If you dig good 70s disco, right smack dab out of the Paradise Factory then get involved!

Disc One
1. Paradise - Change
2. Weekend (12" Extended Version) - Phreek
3. Clouds - Chaka Khan
4. Haven't You Heard - Patrice Rushen
5. We Got The Funk (12" US Re-edit Version) - Positive Force
6. Smack Dab In The Middle - Janice McLain
7. Bad For Me (12" Long Version) - Dee Dee Bridgewater
8. Heartbeat (Club Version) - Taana Gardner
9. You Can't Hide (Your Love From Me) - David Joseph
10. Love Honey, Love Heartache (12" Vocal Version) - Man Friday
11. Don't Make Me Wait (12" Extended Version) - Peech Boys

Disc Two
1. Baby I'm Scared Of You - Womack & Womack
2. Lost In Music (Special 1984 Nile Rodgers Remix) - Sister Sledge
3. Why Leave Us Alone (12" Long Version) - Five Special
4. Love Injection - Trussel
5. Can't Play Around (12" Vocal Version) - Lace
6. Ain't No Mountain High Enough (The Garage Version) - Inner Life
7. It Should Have Been You (12" Vocal Version) - Gwen Guthrie
8. A Lover's Holiday (12" Version) - Change
9. Situation - Yaz
10. Once In A Lifetime - Talking Heads
11. Love Has Come Around (12" Version) - Donald Byrd & 125th Street N.Y.C.

No comments: